you're reading...
REAP

REAP 25-Nov-2013

Read: 1 Peter 2:11-12 “Beloved, I urge you as sojourners and exiles to abstain from the passions of the flesh, which wage war against your soul. 12 Keep your conduct among the Gentiles honorable, so that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day of visitation.”

Examine: Peter urges these men to abstain from the passions of the flesh.  They live in a world which rejects their message.  Abstaining from these passions and conducting themselves as honorable should show the Gentiles that their good deeds bring glory to God.  

Apply: I feel we live in a similar society today which rejects the message of the gospel.  So many other religions out there and hardly any of them know the true work of Jesus.  We as Christians live as aliens in this world and Peter calls us here abstain from the passions of the flesh that wage war on our souls.  There are so many false things the world offers and we should be cautious facing them.  We are to conduct ourselves as honorable, so the world will see our good deeds.  Our actions should be such that they see God’s glory by the way we act.  Practically I see that in my marriage, I can love Nikki like none other.  When people see us, they see the love that God gave the world. At work, I can love people that reject love.  In this chapter Peter says, “For this is the will of God, that by doing good you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish people” (1 Peter 2:15).  I can build relationships that portray God bring people out of exile.  In community I can reach out more, show people what it’s like to open their doors and invite people in.  

Pray: Father, thank you for these words today.  As I go forth in this world in which people confuse or reject your word, give me wisdom on how to serve and love these people.  Apart from your love and the work that Jesus did on the cross I can do nothing.  Let your name be glorified in all that I do.  Help me to abstain from the passions of the flesh and the world.  In Your Name I pray.  Amen.  

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

